Featured artist: chernotrav

This post would more accurately be titled “Featured person who inspires Carly’s most profound jealousy,” but that’s a bit wordy. I have zero (and I really mean zero) artistic ability. I can usually content myself with creating word-pictures, but I greatly admire people who have the talent to share their imagination with the rest of us in colors and shapes. Ideally, I would like this to become a weekly segment, but it will depend on what sort of responses I get from the artists. It could be weekly, bi-weekly, once a month, or whenever the planets align.

Anyway, enough of that. I can’t tell you much about this artist (chernotrav is her deviantART username) other than she seems like an incredibly gracious, humble person from my short correspondence with her. One of my friends showed me her gorgeous Howl watercolor shortly after watching the equally gorgeous Howl’s Moving Castle (directed by the esteemed Hayao Miyazaki). If you haven’t seen the film or read the book by Diana Wynne Jones, I highly recommend doing both. I also recommend checking out more of chernotrav’s art because I think it’s absolutely splendid. I’m not usually drawn to watercolors (is that a pun?), but chernotrav’s work captures both the lustrous vividness of fantasy and the melancholy of what could be reality. I like to combine both when I’m writing fiction so her art is a multifaceted trigger for my creativity.

Of course, none of this art belongs to me. It belongs to chernotrav, who was lovely enough to give me permission to share it with you.

Leave a Reply

